Skip to main content

Annual Fund Campaign and Equal Opportunity Day Dinner

For over 50 years, the Columbia Urban League has promoted financial stability and racial inclusion within our community. CULSC strives to offer programs that provide economic empowerment and educational opportunities for those in need.

The Columbia Urban League’s signature fundraising event, used to highlight the importance of equal opportunity and race relations and recognition of trailblazing community members (individuals, public/private organizations) that have made unmeasurable contributions to our community.

As the Columbia Urban League celebrates 56 years of service, Business, civic and educational leaders gather at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center to celebrate the community impact.

The Annual fund Campaign and Equal Opportunity Day Dinner funds many of the Columbia Urban League’s youth and community service projects.

2022 Honorees

Mrs. Helen Nelson Grant

Mrs. Helen Nelson Grant, J.D., Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer, Richland School District Two

Stephen G. Morrison/Nelson Mullins Social Justice Award

This award recognizes someone who has used his or her skills to promote social justice and equity for disadvantaged and underserved populations

Mr. Mike Hartel

Senior Vice President
& Market Manager
Alpha Media

Virgil C. Summers Corporate Citizen Award presented Dominion Energy

This award recognizes the exemplary achievement of an individual or business for promoting corporate social responsibilities.

Dr. Lesley Wilson-James

Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy, Lenoir-Rhyne

Ethel M. Bolden Community Service Award

This Award recognizes a community advocate who has improved the quality of life for others.

Ms. Leah Moody

Attorney, 16th Judicial Circuit University of South Carolina Board of Trustees

This award recognizes a trailblazer for promoting civil rights and equal opportunities.

Mr. Dave Solano

Vice President
& General Manager
Enterprise Holdings

Anthony and Alice Hurley Award

This award recognizes the extraordinary acommplishments of a current or former board member.

Mr. Charles Waddell

Special Assistant to the Athletics Director, University of South Carolina

President’s Award

This President’s Award recognizes individuals, groups, and/or organizations for their outstanding leadership and service in advancing the quality of life of others.

2022 Equity Leadership Honor Roll Awards

A new recognition that highlights the importance of equity and inclusion in empowering communities and changing lives.
Recognizing persons in Business, Civil Rights, Health Care, and Government


The Boeing Company


Bank of America
Mrs. Kim Wilkerson

Health Care

Mr. Mark O'Halla

Minority Business Leaders

Mr. Clente Flemming
Former President & Chief Executive Officer
South Carolina Community Bank (Optus Bank)

Minority Business Leaders

Mr. Tony Grant
CEO Grant Business Advisors

Minority Business Leaders

Mr. Willis Langley, III
Owner & Operator 6 McDonalds Franchieses

Minority Business Leaders

Dr. Louis B. Lynn
Chairman & President ENVIRO AgScience, Inc.

Minority Business Leaders

Mr. Nathaniel Spells, Sr.
Founder & CEO of Construction Dynamics, Inc.

Minority Business Leaders

Ms. Diane Sumpter
President DESA, Inc.

Minority Business Leaders

Mr. Willie Whaley
Owner & Operator WAW's Heating & Air Conditioning

Minority Business Leaders

Ms. Brenda Murphy
President South Carolina State Conference NAACP

Minority Business Leaders

Elder James Johnson
Founder, Racial Justice Network


Representative J. Todd Rutherford
South Carolina State Representative


Senator John L. Scott, Jr.
South Carolina State Senator


Mrs. Stacy Williams

Presenting Sponsor

Title Sponsors

Diamond Sponsors

Millennium Eagle Sponsors

Become a Volunteer

Interested in joining our team? Let's make a better future.